Dance Suite in Eb


INTERMEDIATE, ALL HARPS   Delightful original pieces reminiscent of Baroque dance music. Fully edited with fingerings, dynamics, guitar chords, lever and pedal changes.

This collection of four dances is reminiscent of the classic Baroque dance suite – with a

contemporary touch – arranged for lever and pedal harps. It is designed primarily for

recital, background or wedding use. However, it may be used to accompany actual

dancing by repeating each selection several times. Chord symbols are provided so that the right-hand melody may be played by any “C” instrument accompanied by harp, lute,

guitar or keyboard. Suggested fingerings are provided as a convenience. However, the harpist should use whatever fingerings best facilitate performance, no matter what this book says!

The total harp range need to play these dances is G2 to C6. These dances may also be played up one octave on any  25-string lever harp with a “C” bottom note.

Table of Contents

1. Allemande

2. Courante

3. Sarabande

4. Gigue

Review: Dragonflower Publications has published a new piece, Dance Suite in E-flat, a welcome addition to the harp repertoire. The four movements of the suite include an Allemande, Courante, Sarabande and Gigue. Each movement is basically written in a two-part texture, creating a full enough sound to carry nicely in different venues. Counterpoint between the left and right hand creates musical interest, as well as the pleasing melodies in each dance. Type setting is clear. Awkward page turns are avoided as each dance spans two pages. The pedals and levers are clearly marked, and fingering is included. The entire suite should last between 8—10 minutes, depending on how many repeats are taken, making it a good choice for recitals as well as for gig use. Lower intermediate harpists will be challenged, while professional players will enjoy the both the versatility and the beauty of the different movements. — Elizabeth Huntley

Weight .16 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × .25 in