The Lively Bard (Jones)


INTERMEDIATE, ALL HARPS  Twenty Up-Tempo Arrangements of Welsh Airs, based on collected tunes of Edward Jones, Harper to King George IV. For flute or violin with lever harp accompaniment. Guitar chords included.

Table of Contents

Cnott y Coed (The Wood-Bunch)

Tros y Garreg (Over the Rock)

Crisial Ground (The Crystal Ground)

Blodau y’ Gorllewin (Flowers of the West)

Ffarwel Dic Bibydd (Dick the Piper’s Farewell)

Agoriad Cywair (The Opening of the Key)

Trichant o Bunnau (Three Hundred Pounds)

Y Gŵr a’i Farch (The Man and His Horse)

Mopsi Dôn: yr Hên Fford (Mopsy’s Tune: The Old Way)

Yr Hên Rogero Bengoch (Old Roger Red Poll)

Mwynen Machno (The Enjoyment of Machno)

Tlysig (The Beauty)

Cymro o B’le? (A Welshman from Where?)

Troiad y Droell (Turning of the Spinning Wheel)

Y Tŷ Trwy’r Ffenest (The House through the Window)

Cudyn Gwyn (White Lock of Hair)

Blodeu Gwynedd (Flowers of Gwynedd)

Hela’r Ysgyfarnog (Hunting the Hare)

Blodeu’r Grùg (Blooms of the Heather)

Y Derwydd (The Druid)

Welsh airs used in this publication were collected by Edward Jones (1751-1824), harper to King George IV. Jones was a prolific collector and arranger of melodies and is best remembered for his three-volume work called Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards (1784-1802). The order of the music facilitates playing 2-4 tunes in succession as a “Welsh medley.” All tunes were typeset to fit exactly on two facing pages to eliminate any page turns within a piece. Some melodies were transposed from their original keys to better suit the range of the flute. Tunes may be taken “up the octave” where desired, such as on repeated sections. The harp range needed to play all of the accompaniments in this collection exactly as written is only 26 strings (C-G). There are no lever changes within pieces in this entire collection, only lever pre-sets.

Weight .38 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × .5 in