Old Welsh Airs


ALL HARPS SOLO, INTERMEDIATE.   A collection of 15 Welsh folk airs arranged by Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher for lever or pedal harp. Four-octave range using only the keys of C and G with minimal lever changes and suggested fingerings and chords.   Please choose either Digital or Physical Version.

From the arranger:

“Melodies used in this publication date back at least 100 years and were taken from old collections of Welsh folk melodies and harp airs.  These airs have been placed in an order that presents varied tempo, tonality and meter so that they can be played as a continuous ‘suite’ of Welsh melodies that facilitates lever and pedal changes.  Each tune has been carefully arranged so that when all repeats are taken, the minimum length of each air is 32 measures.  Lever changes are indicated between the staves and pedal changes beneath the bass staff.  The minimum range needed to play all of the melodies in this collection is four octaves C to C, although some of the pieces require just over three octaves.  Please feel free to re-arrange the melodies it to suit your taste.”


Table of Contents:

  1. Suo Gan
  2. Lady Owen’s Delight
  3. Margaret that Lost her Garter
  4. The Gentle Bird
  5. The Red-Headed Cobbler of Hengoed
  6. White Snowden
  7. All Through the Night
  8. David of the White Rock
  9. Maid of Penderyn
  10. The Slender Lad
  11. Tune of the Castle Moor
  12. Marsh of Rhuddlan
  13. The Ash Grove
  14. Good Humored and Tipsy
  15. March of the Men of Harlech
Physical or Digital

Choose Digital Version, Choose Physical Version