PDF download only

Cornish Traditional Tunes (Solo)


ALL HARPS SOLO, INTERMEDIATE.  Fifteen folk songs from Cornwall and Devon arranged by Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher for lever (as small as 27 strings) or pedal harp solo.  Currently only a Digital Version is available.

From the arranger:

“These tunes were originally arranged for a harp and flute/violin duo.  They have been rearranged here for solo harp.  Note: For harpers who tune their open strings in the key of C, selections #1, #2, #3, and #4 in the key of F (one flat) can be played in the key of F# (6 sharps).

“These tunes have been placed in progressive key order to create a satisfying ‘Cornish suite’ that facilitates lever and pedal changes.  All tunes were typeset to fix exactly on two facing pages to eliminate any page turns within a piece.

“Guitar chords are included so that the melody may be played by any C instrument, accompanied by chords on harp, lute, guitar, or keyboard.  Also, the transcribed harp part can be played on any keyboard instrument with minor adjustments.  Only one song in this collection, #6, has any lever or pedal changes (B-flat and B-natural).  But these could be omitted if the tune is played modally.  Otherwise, there are only lever or pedal presets in preparation for the next song.

“Dynamic markings, fingerings, metronome markings, breath marks, and lever/pedal changes are provided throughout.  However, the musicians should use whichever expressive markings and lever/pedal adjustments suit them, no matter what this book indicates!

“The total range of these harp arrangements is 27 strings, from low C to high A.  However, it is possible to adapt them to accommodate a harp of only 26 strings, from low C to high G, by altering the uppermost note on selections #4, 5, 8, and 9.”

Table of Contents

  1. Helston Furry Dance
  2. The Cottage Thatched With Straw
  3. The White Cockade
  4. The Lovers’ Tasks
  5. Stranger
  6. Limadie
  7. The Marigold
  8. Lullaby
  9. Willy Coombe
  10. Rouse, Rouse
  11. The Blackbird
  12. Captain Pearse
  13. Come My Lads
  14. On A May Morning So Early
  15. The Siege Of St. Malo
Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A
Physical or Digital

Choose Digital Version, Choose Physical Version