The Lively Bard (Jones) (Solo)


ALL HARPS SOLO, INTERMEDIATE.  Twenty up-tempo arrangements of Welsh airs, based on collected tunes of Edward Jones, Harper to King George IV.  Arranged by Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher for solo lever or pedal harp.  Please choose either Digital or Physical Version.

From the arranger:

“The Welsh melodies used in this publication were collected by Edward Jones (1751-1824), harper and bard to King George IV.  Jones was born in North Wales and in about 1775 moved to London where he enjoyed a nearly 50-year career as composer, arranger, performer, and teacher.  He also collected rare books, manuscripts, and musical instruments.

“Jones was a prolific collector and arranger of melodies and is best remembered for his three-volume work called Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards (1784-1802).  Some of Jones’ melodies appear in other sources for Welsh tunes such as John Parry’s (‘Bardd Alaw’) Welsh Melodies (1809), Maria Jane Williams’ Ancient National Airs of Gwent and Morgannwg (1844), and John Thomas’ (‘Pencerdd Gwalia’) three volumes of Welsh Melodies (1862-1874).

“These arrangements were based on tunes that I had arranged for harp and flute/violin duo in an earlier collection, also named The Lively Bard.  All of the tunes herein are presented in Jones’ original keys with the exception of these transpositions: #6, #7, and #8 from Eb to F; and #16 from Bb to C.  Guitar chords are included so that the melody may be played by any “C” instrument, accompanied by chords on harp, lute, guitar, or keyboard.  Only four of the pieces require lever changes within the piece; two require lever presets.

“These airs have been placed in progressive key order to create a satisfying ‘Welsh set’ that facilitates lever (or pedal) changes.  All tunes were typeset to fit exactly on two facing pages to eliminate any page turns within a piece.  The minimum range to play everything exactly as notated is 29 strings, from C to C.  Dynamic markings, fingerings, and tempos are provided throughout as an aid to performance.  However, the harper should use whatever dynamics, fingerings, and tempos suit them, no matter what this book indicates!”

Guitar chords and extensive fingerings included.  ALL HARPS, INTERMEDIATE.

Table of Contents

  1. Cnott y Coed (The Wood-Bunch)
  2. Tros y Garreg (Over the Rock)
  3. Crisial Ground (The Crystal Ground)
  4. Blodau y’ Gorllewin (Flowers of the West)
  5. Ffarwel Dic Bibydd (Dick the Piper’s Farewell)
  6. Agoriad Cywair (The Opening of the Key)
  7. Trichant o Bunnau (Three Hundred Pounds)
  8. Y Gŵr a’i Farch (The Man and His Horse)
  9. Mopsi Dôn: yr Hên Fford (Mopsy’s Tune: The Old Way)
  10. Yr Hên Rogero Bengoch (Old Roger Red Poll)
  11. Mwynen Machno (The Enjoyment of Machno)
  12. Tlysig (The Beauty)
  13. Cymro o B’le? (A Welshman from Where?)
  14. Troiad y Droell (Turning of the Spinning Wheel)
  15. Y Tŷ Trwy’r Ffenest (The House through the Window)
  16. Cudyn Gwyn (White Lock of Hair)
  17. Blodeu Gwynedd (Flowers of Gwynedd)
  18. Hela’r Ysgyfarnog (Hunting the Hare)
  19. Blodeu’r Grùg (Blooms of the Heather)
  20. Y Derwydd (The Druid)
Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A
Physical or Digital

Choose Digital Version, Choose Physical Version